Latrobe, PA (June 3, 2023) The biggest race in the history of Latrobe Speedway took place in front of the largest crowd anyone can remember.


The Union, KY invader Darrell Lanigan driving for the Daughtery/Neal Crate Late Model team from Punxsutawney, PA, thrilled the crowd with a late race pass for the lead to take home the $10,000 to win the Jesse Sterbutzel Memorial race for the Crate Late Models.


In the $ 2,500-to-win Super Late Model feature, it was Drake Troutman who took home the winnings, and in the Joe’s Body Shop & Towing Pure Stock 15-lap feature, EJ Rozak took home the $1,000 check and the trophy.


In the Sterbutzel Memorial Race, the 40-lap Crate Late Model feature, Jeremy Wonderling and Lanigan shared the front row, with Wonderling jumping out front to the lead over Lanigan and Henry Hornsby III.


Wonderling, the current Rush Late Model Point leader, kept the pack behind him for the first twenty-nine laps before Lanigan made the pass for the lead after a restart on lap thirty.


After taking the lead, Lanigan, a former 3-time World of Outlaw Late Model Champion, took command for the remainder of the event.


Following Lanigan across the strip were Wonderling, David Pengrazio, Kyle Hardy, and Ben Policz.


Pengrazio, Hardy, and Policz failed post-race inspection, moving Noah Brunell, Ryan Frazee, and Henry Hornsby III into the top five.


Brunell picked up an additional $100 from Bobby Lake Motorsports as the Hard Charger coming from the twentieth starting spot.


Brunell was the highest-finishing Latrobe Speedway weekly Crate Late Model competitor in the field of the Jesse Sterbutzel Memorial.


The heat races were won by; Wonderling, Lanigan, Braeden Dillinger, and Hornsby III. The heat race winners picked an additional $50 from RPM Parts Supply, the official parts supplier of Latrobe Speedway.


Brent Trimble was the Crate Late Model quick qualifier in Group A with a lap of 20.20 seconds to start on the inside pole, alongside Group B’s quickest, Darrell Lanigan, who posted a lap of 20.23 seconds. Trimble was awarded $100 as the overall Crate Late Model quick qualifier by Bobby Lake Motorsports.


In the Super Late Model feature, Drake Troutman, who had a last-minute change of plans, decided to try Latrobe’s Big-Half Mile before heading out on the UMP Late Model Hell Tour. Fortunately for Troutman, the gamble paid off with a visit to Latrobe’s Victory Lane to claim the $2,500 check for winning the 30-lap Super Late Model feature.


Troutman dominated the event and was closely followed across the finish line by John Lee, Dan Angelicchio, Daniel Hill, and Lucas McDonald.


John Lee was the quick qualifier in the Super Late Models with a lap of 18.46 seconds around the big half-mile.


The Super Late Model heat races were won by; Lee and Dan Angelicchio.


In the $1,000 to-win Joe’s Auto Body & towing Pure Stock feature, the epic battle continued between the top two drivers of the division.


EJ Rozak and Anthony Monteparte put on an excellent show for the fans, with Rozak coming out on top of the 12-lap feature. Monteparte finished second, followed by Greg Blystone, Jim Zufall, and Cody Behanna.


The Pure Stock heat races went to Monteparte and John Hollis.



K2 Engineering Crate Late Model Heats ( 8 Laps 5 Transfer to A-Main)

HEAT 1- 1. 3J -Jeremy Wonderling; 2. 1T-Brent Trimble; 3. 17F-Ryan Frazee; 4. 58-Mason Zeigler; 5. 8 -Tommy Schirnhofer Jr; 6. 15-Zach Herring; 7. 17G-Zach Gunn; 8. (DNF)16-Clinton Hersh


HEAT 2- 1. 1-Darrell Lanigan; 2. 11L-Jeff Ferguson; 3. 99-Kyle Hardy; 4. 47-Dan Angelicchio; 5. 14B-Ben Policz; 6. 11S-Troy Shields; 7. 14G-Jake Gunn; 8. 20B-Lane Brock;


HEAT 3- 1. 14D-Braeden Dillinger; 2. 136-David Pangrazio; 3. 10S-Joe Martin; 4. 90J-Michael Duritsky; 5. 42-Joe Moyer; 6. 5L-John Lee; 7. 38-Mike Laughard;


HEAT 4- 1. 39-Henry Hornsby III; 2. 55-Marino Angelicchio; 3.60 Brandon Burgoon; 4. K2 -John Over; 5. 31-Noah Brunell; 6. 85 -Andy Spooner; 7. (DNS) 27 -Doug Horton


Sterbutzel Memorial K2 Engineering Crate Late Models (10) (B-Main 10-Laps Top 2 go to A-Main) – 1. 15-Zach Herring; 2. 11S-Troy Shields ; 3. 5L-John Lee; 4. 85-Andy Spooner; 5. 17G-Zach Gunn; 6. 14G-Jake Gunn; 7. 38 -Mike Loughard; 8. 16-Clinton Hersh; 9. 20B -Lane Brock; 10. 27-Doug Horton;


Sterbutzel Memorial K2 Engineering Crate Late Models (24) ($10,000 A-Main 40-Laps) – 1. 1-Lanigan[2]; 2. 3J-Wonderling[1]; 3. 31-Noah Brunell[20]; 4. 17F-Ryan Frazee[9]; 5. 39-Hornsby III[4]; 6. 14D-Braeden Dillinger[]; 7. 90J-Michael Duritsky[15]; 8. 11S-Troy Shield[21]; 9. 42-Joe Moyer[19]; 10. 10S-Joe Martin[11]; 11. 47-Dan Angelicchio[14]; 12. 8-Tommy Schrinhofer[17]; 13. 55-Marino Angelicchio[8]; 14. 58-Mason Ziegler[13]; 15. K2-John Over[16]; 16. 60-Brandon Burgoon[12]; 17. 11L-Jeff Ferguson[6]; 18. 1T-Brent Trimble[5]; 19. 17G-Zach Gunn[22]; 20. 16-Clinton Hersh[Track High Point Provisional]; 21. 27-Doug Horton[Quickest Non-Qualifier].

DQ; David Pengrazio, Kyle Hardy, Ben Policz


Super Late Model Heats ( 10 Laps )

HEAT 1- 1. 5L-John Lee; 2. GRS1-Daniel Hill; 3. 44-Lucas McDonald; 4. 94-AJ Campbell; 5. (DNF)27-Michael Lake; 6. (DNF)11B-Jim McBee;


HEAT 2- 1. 7-Drake Troutman; 2. 14A-Dan Angelicchio; 3. 14D-Braeden Dillinger; 4. 55-Chris Schneider; 5. 01iRon Hall; 6. (DNF) 48-Colton Flinner;


Super Late Models (12) ($2,500 Feature 30-Laps)

1. 7-Drake Troutman [2]; 2. 5L-John Lee [1]; 3. 14A-Dan Angelicchio[4]; 4. GRS1-Daniel Hill [3]; 5. 44-Lucas McDonald [5]; 6. (DNF) 94- AJ Campbell [7]; 7. (DNF) 01-Ron Hall [9]; 8. (DNF) 27-Michael Lake [10]; 9. (DNF) 14D-Braeden Dillinger[6]; 10. (DNF) 11B-Jim McBee[12]; 11. (DNF) 55-Chris Schneider[8]; 12. (DNS) 48-Colton Flinner[11];


Joe’s Auto Body & Towing Pure Stock (13) Heats 6 Laps)

HEAT 1- 1. 66-Anthony Monteparte; 2. 629-Greg Blystone; 3. 77-EJ Rozak; 4. 25-Cody Behanna; 5. 44-Bud Vandivider; 6. 28-Travis Blystone


HEAT 2- 1. 18-John Hollis; 2. 06-John Cain; 3. 3Z-Jim Zufall; 4. 21-Dave Heining ; 5. 92-John Cencarik; 6. 15-Kyra Greenwalt-Elizabeth; 7. (DNF) 44L-Adam Large;


Sterbutzel Memorial Joe’s Auto Body & Towing Pure Stocks (13) ($1,000 Feature 12 Laps)

1. 77-EJ Rozak[2]; 2. 66-Anthony Monteparte[6]; 3. 629-Greg Bystone[4]; 4. 3Z-Jim Zufall[1]; 5. 25-Cody Behanna[8]; 6. 18-John Hollis[5]; 7. 44L-Adam Large[10]; 8. 06-John Cain[3]; 9. 28-Travis Blystone[12]; 10. 92-John Cercarik[9]; 11. 15K-Kyra Greenwalt-Elizabeth[11]; 12. (DNF) 21-Dave Heining[7]; 13. (DNF)44-Bud Vandivider[13];


The Sterbutzel family thanks all of those that supported the event.


Howard Concrete Pumping Incorporated presented the Jesse Sterbutzel Memorial Race with secondary support from MAG Trucking. Associate Sponsors; Bobby Lake Motor Sports, Black Diamond Equipment Rental, John Flinner Sign Shop, Rt. 21 Transport, Bills Bit Services, Bates Recycling, GMS Racing Engines, Senex Explosives, Taxacher Specialties,

Armstrong Cement, Paint Masters Plus, Gary’s Auto, Redstone Physical Therapy, J&J Mechanical Enterprises, Inc.


Latrobe Speedway hosts Full Pull Productions Truck and Tractor Pull on Saturday, June 10. The Speedway is closed for the Westmoreland County Airshow on June 17. Dirt track racing resumes on Saturday, June 24.

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :