Rich Logan wins in the reopening of Latrobe Speedway

Rich Logan wins in the reopening of Latrobe Speedway

Despite a rain shower during the drivers meeting, Latrobe Speedway was able to getting its first night of circle track competition since 2006.  Winning the opening night features was Rich Logan in the FASTRAK Late Models, Josh Ferry in the Emods, Todd Weldon in the Pro Stocks, Anthony Monteparte in the Chargers, Matthew Weltz in the 4 Cylinders, Candy Koffler in the Mothers race and Jerry Kress won the Enduro. 

Russell Baird Jr and Brandon Lott brought the FASTRAK Late Models out for there feature event.  Before one lap was in the books, fourth starting Rich Logan jumped out to the lead with Lott in tow.  They would run this way, Logan would go on and lead all 20 laps.  But late in the race, seventh starting John Over would move into second spot and pressure Logan to the finish.  Logan would take the win in the Stacy Logan owned, Bubba Speed Shop, Scott Barnhart Electric sponsored Longhorn Chassis.  Over would finish second, Lott third, Baird fojurth and Tanner Hauger was fifth.  Rounding out the top 10 was Eric Smith in sixth, seventh was Mike Cuthbert, Vince Masi was eighth, ninth was DJ Nakutis and tenth was Marino Angelicihio.  Hauger and Angelichio won the heat races. 

Bruce Driestadt and Greg Hauger brought the Emod field on the track.  But jumping out to the early lead, third starting and heat race winner Josh Ferry.  Ferry, in the Millennium Motorsports, BMS Chassis, Zimmer’s Service Center car was making his debut at the track, would lead the entire. Greg Hauger and fourth starting Bill Pluta would battle the entire with Hauger finishing second, Pluta third, Dreistadt fourth and Jamie Kohan was fifth.  Rounding out the field, sixth was Ridge Brookwalter, Joe Pluta was seventh, Josh Cramer was eighth and Tyler Young was ninth.

Joe Gombach III and Martin Spade would lead the Pro Stock field on the track.  Spade would lead the first three laps, but on lap fourth starting Todd Weldon would take the lead.  Weldon driving the Hoods Up Quick Lube, Pat Weldon owned race car.  Spade and fifth starting Ray Hickok Jr. would battle hard for second over the next 11 laps and switch the position a couple of time, but it was a tire losing air on Hickok Jr that aloud Spade to earn second place.  Hickok Jr was third, Ryan newman was fourth and Joey ZamBotti was fifth.  Sixth was bob Egley, Gombach III was seventh, eighth was Tommy Dembowski, ninth was Gary Churchfield and 10th was Drew Kotelas.  Weldon and Hickok Jr. won the  heat races.

Anthony Monteparte and EJ Rozak brought the Charger feature on to the track  At the drop of the green, Monteparte jumped out to the lead with fifth starting John Redshaw moving into second place.  Red and Monteparte would race hard with Redshaw moving ahead at some parts of the track, but Monteparte was credited with leading all the laps.  Moteparte,driving the 66 Auto Supply race car, who as a youngster went to victory at Latrobe Speedway with his Father John, would earn a career first win anywhere.  Redshaw was second, Rozak was third, fourth was Josh Ferry and fifth was Greg Taylor.  Rounding out the top 10 was Jim Zufall in sixth, Jacob Weyel was seventh, Zach Staley was eighth, Craig Hill was ninth and Brandon Doland was 10th.  Heats where won  Brad Nesline and Redshaw.


Brian Noel and Devon Iser brought the 4 cylinder feature onto the track.  Fourth starting Matthew Weltz would take the lead all 12 laps of the feature.   The would be red flagged on lap 3 when Sam Basinger ended up on his side.  He was alright and abler to continue. 

 One of the fastest cars on the track 12th starting Dylan Burkett who would end up second.  Third was Todd Detrick, fourth was Noel, fifth was Jeremy Grubs.  Rounding out the top 10 was Dave Gacka in sixth, Justin Clark was seventh, Basinger was eighth, Devon Iser was ninth and Dave Smails was 10th. 


Candy Koeffler won the Mothers race and Jerry K”ress won the endure.