Bryan Benton wins in the Debut at Latrobe Speedway in FASTRAK crate late model

Bryan Benton wins in the Debut at Latrobe Speedway in FASTRAK crate late model

Under beautiful sunny skies, Latrobe Speedway got its fourth night of racing action in.  Winning the night features was Bryan Benton in the FASTRAK Late Models, Mike Potosky in the Emods, Ray Hickok Jr. in the Pro Stocks, Chris Hickok in the Chargers, Brian Noel in the 4 Cylinders.  David Myers won the overall PA Thunder on the Dirt Vintage Modified Series and Bobby Coles won the 2 barrel division. 

Bryan Benton and Troy Shields brought the FASTRAK Late Models out for there feature event.  Jumping out to the early lead was Benton with Shields in tow.  Benton was able to adjust to the big half mile and lead all 20 laps of the feature.  Shields and Rich Logan battled hard over the entire rce for second spot with Shields finishing second.  Betton, driving the Benton Racing, Steve O Pizza, Claar Notary Masterbilt chassis race car.  Shields would finish second, Logan third, Mike Cuthbert was fourth and fifth was Andrew Koenig. Rounding out the top 10 was Russell Baird in sixth, seventh was Andy Spooner, Eric Smith was eighth, ninth was Brandon Lott and tenth was DJ Nakutis.  Tanner Hauger was eleventh and John Over was twelfth.  Rich Logan and Bryan Benton won the heat races. 

Mike Potosky and Alan Atkinson brought the Emod field on the track.  Jumping out to the early lead was Mike Potosky, but one of the fastest cars on the track seventh starting Nalon Dalton.  Potosky, having no traffic in front of him was able to jump out to an impressive lead, but by lap seven, Dalton was up to second. Once Dalton caught the leader,the top two would run nose to talil over the remaining laps with Potosky earning the win in his debut at the track.  Potosky was in the  Lethal Chassis Chassis, 955 Racing engines car.  Dalton would finish second, Atkinson was third, Josh Ferry was fourth and Greg Hauger was fifth.  Rounding out the field, sixth was Joe Pluta, Bruce Driestad was seventh, Josh Cramer was eighth.  Dreistad was involved in a turn 4 crash coming to the checkered while battling for fourth.  He was ok after the crash.  Potosky also won the heat race.

Ray Hickok Jr and Michael Hudzik would lead the Pro Stock field on the track.  Hickok Jr., who was fast all year, would go on and lead every lap and win his career first at Latrobe Speedway.  Hickok driving a Ford sponsored by Iron Horse Salvage, The Rose, Animal Graphic race car.  Hudzik would make a strong debut and finish second in his debut.  Brett McDonald, with a 604 crate motor would recover from an early race spin to finish third.  Fourth was Tommy Dembowski and fifth was Chris Wolfe.  Sixth was Joey Kotelas, Seventh was Dave Spade.  Drew Kotelas and Steve Mitchell completed the field.  Hickok Jr. also won the heat race.

James Hixson and Anthony Monteparte brought the Charger feature on to the track  At the drop of the green, Monteparte jumped out to the lead with Hixson in tow.  Two of the faster cars moving up through the field was fourth place starter Chris Hickok and seventh place starter Zachary Steele.  Monteparte would lead until lap number five, when the 100 car got loose and slide off the track to bring out the caution.  that would give the to Hickok.  Once in the lead, Hickok would go on and oin his brother as a feature winner tonight.  Hickok driving a FORD powered car sponsiored by Iron House Salvage, and Townsen Oil and gas.  Steele would finish second.  Hixson was third, fourth was Brad Nesline and Bill Finlay was fifth.  Sixth was Monteparte was sixth, Jeremy Zufall was seventh, Brandon Doland was eighth and ninth was Jacob Weyer.    Also competing was Craig Hill, Ron Ramsey, John Hollis, Bud Kern, Gary Taylor, Stephen Hazlett, John Redshaw, Shawn McGinnis and Dakota Hixson.  Heats where won  Monteparte and Redshaw.


Ed Leonard and David Smail brought the 4 cylinder feature onto the track. After Leonard lead lap #1, a caution flew and the when all was said and done, Brian Noel would be the leader with Todd Detreck second.  One ofthr fastest cars on the track was Steve Settle.  Settle would pass Detrek and move into second and pjut pressure on Noel, But Noel was up to the challenge and would go on win a career first on dirt. Noel, was driving the Pleasant Trucking, Noel Family Racing Chevrolet. Settle would finish second with Larry Weltz, driving his son Matt car in third.  Fourth was Paul Kofflerr and fifth was Ben Lehane.  Jay Swager Jr was sixth, Detrek was seventh, Smail was eighth, CJ Parrill Jr was ninth and Sam Basinger was tenth. Ed Leonard was eleventh.  Also competing was Dylan Burkett, Chad Brandt, Justin McDoewll, David Needham.  Todd Detrek and Jim Prenni where DNS.


The PA Thunder on the Dirt Vintage Modified Series made their debut at the track and David Myers dominated the night.  Myers, won the heart race and the overall feature.  This series run 2 divisions, a 2 barrel and 4 barrel class.  the carburetor selection is based on motor size.  Myers, utilizes a 602 crate motor.  Myers and Gary Beers would bring the feature on to the track. Once the green was waived, Myers would go on lead every lap.  one of the fastest cars on the track was the 2x of Matt Hildebrand.  Despite starting fifth, he would race his way to second place.  Third was the other division winner, Bobby Coles, fourth was Fred Hilenbrand and fifth was Hank Coles.  Rounding out the field was Beer, Frank Senica, Jeff Maners, Denny Smouse and Greg Bradish.