3 New winners grace victory at Latrobe Speedway.

3 New winners grace victory at Latrobe Speedway.

Under threatening sunny skies, Latrobe Speedway ran their third racing program of the season.  Winning the features was Russel Baird Jr. in the FASTRAK Late Models, Greg Hauger in the Emods, Tommy Dembowski in the Pro Stocks, Zackery Stehle in the Chargers and Matthew Weltz in the 4 Cylinders, 

John Over and Andrew Koenig brought the FASTRAK Late Models out for there feature event.  At the drop of the green, Over jumped out, but one of the fastest cars on the track was sixth place starter, Russel Baird Jr. who worked his way into second.  On lap number 2, the caution flew for leader, John Over. Over would head to the pits, but would return about three laps down.  Koenig would inherit the lead  Two of the younger drivers in the division, Koenig and Baird would battle for the lead over the next laps with Baird moving out to the lead.  Baird Jr. would take the win in the Russel Baird owned, FORD Business Machine, Garry’s Auto Sales sponsored Rocket.  Koenig would finish second, Troy Shields was third, Braeden Dillinger was fourth and Daniel Angelicchio was fifth.  Rounding out the top 10 was Eric Smith in sixth, Brandon Lott was seventh, Rich Logan was eighth, ninth was Nico DeBecco and tenth.  Competing the field was Marino Angelicchio Rob King, Tanner Hauger, Joe Moyer and Bob Hymes.  Over and Baird Jr won the heat races. 

Tommy Dembowski and opening night winner, Todd Weldon would lead the Pro Stock field on the track.  Weldon would jump out to the early lead the and appeared to be on his way to his second victory until motor issues just pass mid race.  At that point,  Former track champion Tommy Dembowski would assume the lead with pressure from Spade and Brett McDonald for the rest of the race with Dembowski earning the win. Dembowski driving the Active Chiropractic, Completed Auto, Johnny Carpet Pro Stock would earn his first win since 2006.  Dembowski was explaining in victory lane how important this win was and it was in honor of his Dad, who had passed away and got Tommy involved in racing. Spade was second with crate motor driver Brett McDonald earning third for the second week in a row.  Fourth was Bob Egley and fifth was Weldon. Rounding out the field was Steve Mitchell, Gary Churchfield and Ray Hickock Jr.  Spade Jr. won the  heat race.

Bruce Dreistant and Greg Hauger brought the Emod field on the track for feature event.  But jumping out to the early lead was Hauger.  Hauger, a former winner at the track in the pro stock, would lead the entire race and earn his first win of the season.  Dreistant would run a consistent race and presser Hauger and finish second.  Third was Bill Pluta Jr and fourth was Joe Pluta.  Hauger, driving the Hi Line Motor Sports, Mill St, Motors, Collin’s Roofing, Throw n Dirt Chassis modified.  Dreiatant won the heat races.

Point Leader Josh Ferry and Brandon Doland brought the Pure Stock feature onto the track.  At the drop of the green, Ferry would jump out to the lead until he lost his motor.  That would move opening night winner, Anthony Monteparte with  twelfth starting Zachery Stehle moving up through the field.  It appeared the Monteparte would go on to earn his second win of the season, but then on lap 10, motor issues would force the leader to the pits. Stehle would move into the lead and go on and win his second race in a row.  Stehle, driving the Stanton Auto Parts, MS Shock Therapy, Folmer Motorports #00 pure stock with a 602 crate motor.  John Hollis was second, James Hixson was third, fourth was Brad Nesline and fifth was Brandon Doland.  Rounding out the field was Stephan Hazlettl in sixth, Gary Taylor was seventh, Jim Zufall was eighth, Monteparte was ninth and Jacob Weyer was 10th, John Hollister was eleventh and Chuck Rohrbacher was twelveth, Ferry was thirteenth, Randy Deberarnis and Brad Ramsey was fifteenth.  Monteparte and Steehle won the heat races.

Dylan Burkett and Todd Detrick brought the 4 cylinder feature onto the track.  Detrick would lead the first three laps of the feature, but David Needham would take the lead on lap four.  Needham would lead all but the last lap.  That is when twelfth starting Matt Weltz would take the lead and go on and win his third race in a row.  Needham would finish second, Ed Leonard was third, Detrich was fourth, Jeremy Grubbs was fifth.  Sixth was Larry Weltz. seventh was Ben Lehane, eight was Brian Noel, Dustin Detrich and Tenth was Jason Rittenour.  Round out the field was Sam Basingrer, Jay Mack, Zach Myers, Justin McDowell and Dylan Burkett. 

Nicholas Hessom won the Father’s Day Charger race.

And please do not forget, we are off this upcoming Saturday night.  We will see everyone on June 29th.